BBMP releases list of top property tax defaulters

BENGALURU: Shopping malls, tech parks, IT companies and apartments figure in the list of property tax defaulters.

M Shivaraju, chairperson, standing committee for taxation and finance, BBMP, released a list of top defaulters and said they have issued notices to them for immediate payment of dues. The list includes Karnataka State Cricket Association (KSCA) and Chaitanya Properties Private Limited among others. “Till now, we have collected Rs 1,527 crore from over 11,41,393 properties in the city for the financial year 2016-17,” he added.

Shivaraju said as per the survey conducted by the civic body, there is a difference in the total area declared by property owners and the tax payable they have declared under the self-assessment scheme. “The dues, including fine and interest, of the top 10 defaulters stand at Rs 231.66 crore. If they don’t pay the dues, we are empowered to take action against them under section 147 of schedule 3 of Karnataka Municipal Corporations Act,” he added.

Collection of improvement charges to begin
Shivaraju said they have got the high court nod for collection of improvement charges (IC) from residential and commercial establishments, including those which have been added to the corporation from erstwhile city municipal councils. “We will begin the drive soon; it is expected to fetch a revenue of Rs 466 crore,” he added.

As per the court’s directions, BBMP can collect improvement charges of Rs 250 per sqmt from new wards and Rs 200 per sqmt from old wards. However, payment of IC cannot be a pre-condition for registration or transfer or bifurcation or amalgamation of khatas as reiterated by the court from time to time.

Zone-wise List

Zone Defaulter Dues

Mahadevapura zone – Chaitanya Properties Private Limited- Rs 29.13 crore

South zone – Subramanya Constructions- Rs 29.03 crore

Bommanahalli zone – Susheela N Reddy, Royal Meenakshi Mahal – Rs 23.36 crore

East zone – Karnataka State Cricket Association, Cubbon Road- Rs 5.65 crore

Yelahanka zone – Chennaraya Reddy and others, Doddis Resort- Rs 1.55 crore

RR Nagar zone – Leela Scottish Lace Private Limited- Rs 0.63 crore

Dasarahalli zone – MS Dudani Exports Private Limited- Rs 0.15 crore

West zone – SNR Soumithra, Gubbi Veeranna Road- Rs 0.5 crore

Source: BBMP

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *